Carpenter Scholarship

Home Trainee Resources Trainee Awards Carpenter Scholarship

This award is named for Dr. A.J. Carpenter, 63rd President of the Southern Thoracic Surgical Association (STSA) and former President and long-time leader with WTS. Dr. Carpenter is not only a national leader in cardiac surgery and thoracic education, but also a tremendous mentor to a growing cohort of young surgeons nationwide.



Thank You to

for Support of this Scholarship and the WTS!


This award allows a woman in medical school or surgical training in the U.S. with an interest in cardiothoracic surgery the opportunity to attend the STSA Annual Meeting, and to be mentored throughout the meeting by a WTS/STSA member. In addition, women postdoctoral candidates in a research or other gap year who have graduated medical school in the U.S. and are committed to cardiothoracic surgery, are eligible to apply.

The STSA meeting is widely recognized as one of the most coveted national meetings in cardiothoracic surgery. The meeting’s format and location provide a strong academic program and unique opportunities for social interaction and relationship building. We encourage all who are interested to apply by emailing your application materials to

The application process for the 2023 WTS Carpenter Scholarship opened on July 1, 2023

Interested applicants must apply online at the link below and will be required to submit the following:

  • Application form which includes a 250 word maximum essay question response
  • Current CV
  • Letter of support from the applicant’s medical school official or residency program director permitting participation
  • Letter of recommendation from an STSA Active member (it is the applicant’s responsibility to confirm membership)

The submission deadline for applications is August 15, 2023, 11:59 p.m. PDT.

Contact WTS Headquarters at with questions.

WTS Carpenter Scholarship for Attendance at the STSA Annual Meeting

Meeting Dates:
November 2-5, 2023

Loews Sapphire Falls Resort at Universal Orlando™, Orlando, FL.

WTS Carpenter Scholarship Application

Award: Up to $2,000 to cover air travel (one round-trip coach class airfare), ground transportation (shuttle, taxi and Uber/Lyft), lodging (up to three nights at the Loews Sapphire Falls Resort), and meals (not already provided by STSA). Tickets to the President’s Mixer and Dinner Gala are included. Registration fee is waived for scholarship recipient.

Award Payout: Following the STSA Annual Meeting, up to $2,000 in travel and lodging expenses will be reimbursed upon receipt of a completed report/evaluation of experience, and expense reimbursement form and receipts.

Eligibility: Female medical students, general surgery residents, and cardiothoracic surgery residents enrolled at an ACGME-accredited institution in the U.S.  In addition, women postdoctoral candidates in a research or other gap year who have graduated medical school in the U.S. and are committed to cardiothoracic surgery, are eligible to apply.

Previous recipients of any of the following scholarships/awards are not eligible to apply:

  • WTS Thistlethwaite Scholarship to attend the WTSA Annual Meeting
  • WTS Scholarship Program to attend the STS Annual Meeting
  • WTS Carpenter Scholarship to attend the STSA Annual Meeting
  • STS Looking to the Future Scholarship to attend the STS Annual Meeting
  • STSA Brooks Scholarship to attend the STSA Annual Meeting

Mentor: A WTS/STSA member will be assigned prior to the STSA Annual Meeting.

STSA supports southern and southern-trained members of the cardiothoracic surgery community and their families in the pursuit of the highest quality patient care, education, scientific achievement, collegiality, and life balance. STSA represents more than 1,100 cardiothoracic surgeons throughout the country. Although the STSA is a regional society by definition, members are from all over the United States. At the time of acceptance, candidates for STSA Active membership must be practicing, or have previously practiced cardiothoracic surgery for at least one year, or have completed their general surgery residency, thoracic surgery residency, or a thoracic or cardiovascular research or clinical fellowship for at least 12 consecutive months in one of the following states/regions: Alabama; Arkansas; Florida; Georgia; Kentucky; Louisiana; Maryland; Mississippi; Missouri; North Carolina; Oklahoma; South Carolina; Tennessee; Texas; Virginia; West Virginia; District of Columbia; the U.S. territories and commonwealths in the Caribbean.