Honorary Members

Home Members Honorary Members

Our Honorary Members

We recognize that successful individuals in any field owe much of their success to the mentors and supporters who guided them along the way. The individuals whom we inducted into Women in Thoracic Surgery (WTS) as Honorary Members have been outstanding supporters of women in our field as a whole or have been extraordinary champions of individual women.

Eugene Braunwald, MD

Doctor Braunwald’s generous support of the Dr. Nina Starr Braunwald Award will guarantee research funding for women in the next 100 years. His willingness to share his personal reflections of Nina will offer inspiration to decades of women aspiring to careers in medicine.

Delos M. Cosgrove III, MD

Doctor Cosgrove has developed important opportunities for women as fellows, residents, clinical associates and staff. All of us who have spent time at the Cleveland Clinic are enriched and inspired by the experience.

Nicholas T. Kouchoukos, MD

Doctor Kouchoukos has been a source of support to many of us individually. Collectively, we are indebted to him for having the vision to provide a forum that can serve to reinvigorate the continued progress of women dedicated to careers in thoracic surgery.

F. Griffith Pearson, MD


Doctor Pearson embodies the mentor and guide we all wish we had upon completing our training. He showed the way to his mentees and introduced them to those who could best guide them the rest of the way.

W. Gerald Ranier, MD


WTS is dedicated to advancing excellence in our field both in our individual practices and nu serving organizations such as The Society of Thoracic Surgeons. Dr. Rainer has been a continuing source of advice and counsel as we seek leadership opportunities both locally and nationally.

Robert L. Replogle, MD


Leaders have the choice of being through the process and committee such that the process becomes the issue. As President of The Society of Thoracic Surgeons, Dr Replogle chose to be a warrior on behalf of one of our members. We honor him for his support of us and for the extraordinary choices he has made.

Douglas E. Wood, M.D., F.A.C.S., F.R.C.S.Ed.

Jeff Jacobs, M.D.

Keith S. Naunheim, M.D.