Faculty Awards

Home Career Resources Faculty Awards

2013 WTS Scholarship recipients and their mentors at the WTS Membership Meeting & Reception, Jan. 28, 2013, Los Angeles. Top row from left: Yolonda Colson, MD; Iva Smolens, MD; Jessica Donington, MD; Shari Meyerson, MD; Rebecca Wolfer, MD; Andrea J. Carpenter, MD. Front row from left: Gita Mody, MD; Hyaehwan Kim, MD; Jane Yanagawa, MD; Danielle Smith, MD; Janet Edwards, MD; Natalie Gukasyan.

Please follow these links for more information on these exciting opportunities!

Open for 2023:

WTS Terumo Aortic Fellowship

WTS Intuitive Robotic Scholarship

“I was fortunate enough to win one of the inaugural WTS – Intuitive robotic scholarships. As a new graduate in a program that did not have an existing thoracic surgical robotics program, this scholarship was instrumental in providing the guidance and mentorship to help me to start a new program that continues to thrive one year later. I am eternally grateful to Dr. Schumacher and her team for their time and dedication. Within the last year, our program has increased to three robotic thoracic surgeons and the volume, breadth and complexity of cases being performed continues to evolve. In addition, we have initiated a multi-disciplinary robotic education program for our residents and fellows. I think we may have caught the “robot fever.”I am so grateful to the WTS and Intuitive for their support and this incredible opportunity for me and for other women in our field!”

Erin Gillaspie, MD, MPHVanderbilt University Medical Center

AATS-WTS Mid-career Investigator Award

TSF Carolyn E. Reed Traveling Fellowship

“This summer I spent two weeks in Portland, Oregon, with the Oregon Clinic foregut surgeons Drs. Steve DeMeester and Christy Dunst. This experience invigorated my enthusiasm to develop a complex esophageal practice and continue research in this area. At Case Western, I plan to perform endoscopic resections as part of staging for early-stage esophageal cancer patients.”

“This July I spent time at OHSU and obtained a limited Oregon license and privileges at the hospital so that I was able to participate in cases. Overall, it was a wonderful educational experience that increased my understanding of foregut disease and improved my surgical and endoscopic skills to identify dysplasia.”

Not Currently Open for Applications:

STS-WTS Extraordinary Women in Cardiothoracic Surgery Award