WTS Thistlethwaite Scholarship

This award is named for Dr. Patricia Thistlethwaite, 43rd President of the Western Thoracic Surgical Association (WTSA) and former leader with Women in Thoracic Surgery (WTS). Dr. Thistlethwaite is a nationally-recognized cardiothoracic surgeon who specializes in lung cancer, mediastinal and chest wall surgery, diseases of the thymus, minimally invasive thoracic surgery, and heart and lung transplantation. She conducts clinical research and has led major national trials to treat lung cancer. In addition, Dr. Thistlethwaite plays a significant role in training future cardiothoracic surgeons.

This award was conceived to allow young women in medical school, surgical training and women postdoctoral candidates in a research or other gap year who have graduated medical school who are committed to cardiothoracic surgery the opportunity to attend the WTSA Annual Meeting, and to be mentored throughout the meeting by a WTS/WTSA member.

The application for the 2020 WTS Thistlethwaite Scholarship is now open. Eligible applicants must apply online at https://sts.smapply.io/prog/wts_thistlethwaite_scholarship/. In addition to completing an online application form, applicants will be asked to upload a current CV and a letter of recommendation from an Active WTSA member. It is the responsibility of the applicant to confirm their letter of recommendation writer is an Active member of the Western Thoracic Surgical Association (WTSA). The application deadline is Friday, April 10, 2020, 11:59 p.m. CT.

If you have questions, please contact Rachel Pebworth, WTS Affiliate Manager, at rpebworth@sts.org.

WTS Thistlethwaite Scholarship Application

WTS Thistlethwaite Scholarship for Attendance at the WTSA 46th Annual Meeting

Meeting Dates: June 24-27, 2020

Location: Vail Marriott Mountain Resort in Vail, Colorado

Award: Up to $2,000 to cover air (round-trip coach class airfare) and ground transportation (taxi and or/shared ride, Uber/Lyft), lodging (up to four nights at the Vail Marriott Mountain Resort) , meals (not already provided by WTSA) and a ticket to the WTSA President’s Reception and Banquet. The meeting registration fee will be waived for the recipient.

Award Payout: Following the WTSA Annual Meeting, up to $2,000 in travel, meals and lodging will be reimbursed upon receipt of a completed report/evaluation of experience, and expense reimbursement form and receipts.

Eligibility: Women medical students and resident physicians enrolled at an ACGME-accredited institution in the U.S. In addition, women postdoctoral candidates in a research or other gap year, who have graduated medical school and are committed to cardiothoracic surgery, are eligible to apply.

Previous recipients of any of the following scholarships/awards are not eligible to apply:

  • WTS Thistlethwaite Scholarship to attend the WTSA Annual Meeting
  • WTS Scholarship Program to attend the STS Annual Meeting
  • WTS Carpenter Scholarship to attend the STSA Annual Meeting
  • STS Looking to the Future Scholarship to attend the STS Annual Meeting
  • STSA Brooks Scholarship to attend the STSA Annual Meeting

Mentor: A WTS/WTSA member will be assigned prior to the WTSA 46th Annual Meeting.