WTS Scholarship Program

The application process for the WTS Scholarship Program to attend the 2020 STS Annual Meeting is closed.

The scholarship covers meeting registration for the STS 56th Annual Meeting taking place in New Orleans, LA, January 25-28, 2020, plus hotel accommodations for three nights and up to $500 in air and ground travel-related expenses.

Eligibility: Women medical students and resident physicians training in an accredited thoracic or general surgery program are eligible to apply. In addition, women postdoctoral candidates in a research or other gap year who have graduated medical school and are committed to cardiothoracic surgery are eligible to apply. Please note that previous recipients of a WTS Scholarship, WTS Carpenter Scholarship or an STS Looking to the Future Scholarship are ineligible, though previous applicants are encouraged to apply. If you are awarded a WTS Carpenter Scholarship to attend the 2019 STSA Annual Meeting, then your application will no longer be considered for the 2020 WTS Scholarship Program.

Application Requirements: Eligible applicants will be required to submit this online application, including a brief topical essay question. The application submission deadline for the 2020 WTS Scholarship Program is Friday, October 25, 2019, 11:59 p.m. CT. If you have questions, please contact Rachel Pebworth, WTS Affiliate Manager, at rpebworth@sts.org.

The WTS scholarship program has awarded 98 scholarships since its inception in 2005. In awarding this annual WTS scholarship, Women in Thoracic Surgery is fulfilling one of its stated missions “to enhance the education of women thoracic surgeons.”

Make a tax-deductible contribution to the WTS Scholarship Program. Your support will help WTS continue its mission of developing women thoracic surgeons through this annual mentoring program.

Congratulations to the 2016 WTS Scholarship Program Recipients!
The WTS is pleased to announce the 2016 recipients of the Scholarship Program.  These individuals will receive an opportunity to attend the STS 52nd Annual Meeting in Phoenix, AZ, January 23-27, 2016.
  • Jennifer Burg, OHSU
  • Betsy Colwell, Medical College of WI
  • Vicky Dhooge, Univ Hospital of Antwerp, Belgium
  • Catherine Gilbert, Univ of MI
  • Taylor Hodge, Univ of Louisville
  • Alcina Lidder, Univ of Rochester
  • Joyce Loh, Univ of MI
  • Jessica Luc, Univ of Alberta
  • Emily Tibbits, UC Davis
  • Natalja Rosculet, Univ of MI

Congratulations to the 2015 WTS Scholarship Recipients!

  • Megan Loo, medical student at University of Southern California
  • Brandi Scully, General Surgery resident at Baylor
  • Christina Lineback, medical student at the University of Michigan
  • Heather Palomino, medical student at University of California, San Diego
  • Emi Manuia, medical student at Dartmouth
  • Sara Kim, General Surgery resident at University of North Carolina
  • Mansi Shah, General Surgery resident at University of North Carolina
  • Janani Arun, 4/3 Resident at Mayo
  • Julia Tolentino, medical student at Temple
  • Gal Levy, General Surgery resident
  • Sophie Hofferberth, General Surgery resident
  • Erin Schumer, General Surgery resident

2015 WTS Scholarships made possible by support from the following companies and organizations:

Contact WTS Headquarters with questions by e-mailing wts@wtsnet.org or calling Megan Drumm, WTS Executive Director, at (312) 202-5864.

Congratulations to the 2014 WTS Scholarship Recipients!

  • Navjit Dharampal, MD, University of Calgarywtsmeeting2014sts 058
  • Christina Saikus, MD, Emory University
  • Kimberly Vogelsang, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
  • Alison Ward, MD, New York University
  • Tessa Watt, University of Michigan

2014 WTS Scholarships made possible by support from the following companies:

The 2014 WTS Scholarship Program was a great success. Thanks to all of our recipients, who traveled to Orlando, Fla. and attended the STS 50th Annual Meeting January 26-29, 2014, and to all of our WTS member mentors. Feedback from the 2014 Scholarship Program recipients included the following highlights:

  • “I loved the entire experience with the WTS scholarship program and would recommend it to other women interested in CT surgery. I feel very fortunate to have been a scholarship recipient, and I hope to be able to attend future STS conferences and be involved with the WTS as my career progresses.”
  • “Great experience. The program provided guidance at the STS meeting, making networking and attending sessions more approachable. I really enjoyed meeting my mentor and other female CT residents.”
  • “I really appreciated getting to know people in the CT surgery department at my medical school better. I think the environment of the conference facilitated networking with some of the docs I had met previously but had not really talked to much because they’re usually running around the hospital getting things done.”
  • “The entire program was very well run and Dr. Donnington was a fabulous mentor. She was very approachable and ensured that all of her mentees had a great experience at the meeting and fostered bonding among other trainees as well.”

Congratulations to the 2013 WTS Scholarship Recipients!

  • Janet Edwards, University of Calgary
  • Natalie Gukasyan, Tulane University
  • Hyaehwan Kim, University of Utah
  • Gita Mody, Bringham and Women’s Hospital
  • Danielle Smith, Northwestern University
  • Jane Yanagawa, Kettering Cancer Center

2013 WTS Scholarships made possible by support from the following companies:

“My mentor was very attentive, extremely informative and supportive. Spending time with her was the best part of the trip. I also enjoyed the WTS lecture by Dr. DeRosa, which gave me a new framework to improve my skills as both a teacher and a learner.” – Jane Yanagawa, Thoracic sugery resident, expected graduation year 2013

“This is an extremely well organized program and is highly valuable for encouraging resident interest in thoracic as well as inspiring us to persevere in our career choice. It’s really exceptional!” – Janet Edwards, General surgery resident, expected graduation year 2013, followed by 2-year Thoracic residency

“Great program, please continue to give women access to careers in CT. Thank you so much for this opportunity. I am truly grateful.” – Danielle Smith, Thoracic surgery resident, expected graduation year 2017